New Home Decor

We started this summer’s renovation project by redoing our living room and ‘den’ area. I wanted them to be considered more like one room and I wanted to rid the walls of some clutter and switch from a ‘country’ type decor to something a little more clean.

We painted the walls two colors. The top 1/3 of the wall is a beige and the bottom 2/3 is white and we put a chair rail up in between the colors. We redid our hardwood floor in our living room, put new wood on the step and put new tile around our wood-burning stove. My husband is in the process of building an entertainment center and when it is complete I will post pictures.

Because of all this I needed some new decor. I started by having our pictures made as a family. After I got the proofs back, I picked my favorites and arranged them on one of my walls. I love how it turned out (sorry this picture isn’t the best).

I still had a few favorites that didn’t make my photo gallery so I put these pictures on a different wall. I bought 12×12 canvases and had these pictures printed at a local print store. Then I just used modgepodge and glued them on the canvas. For the saying, I painted a board gray and applied white vinyl that I cut out.

I wanted a place to display some items, so on one of the walls instead of putting up a chair rail, my husband built a shelf that runs from the window frame to the corner. I made this number art to put there. I found an old frame and spray painted it white. Then I found a picture mat that we weren’t using and sprayed it blue. I printed out this vinyl of important dates in our family and applied it to some gray cardstock. An instant decoration that has meaning.

I wanted to incorporate the ever popular chevron stripes some how into our new rooms. I had this old frame so again I got out my trusty spray paint and painted the frame and board white. Then I took my ruler and drew a vertical line at the 1/4, 1/2, and 3/4 mark. To make the stripes I made a mark on the middle line and then went down two inches and marked on the 1/4 and 3/4 line. Then I connected those dots with diagonal lines. I did this for the entire board. I took painter’s tape and covered every other section and then I spray painted it blue. After it was dry, I removed the tape and sand it a little to give it a weathered look. Then I applied this vinyl in gray. I love how it turned out.

Since Valentine’s Day is approaching, I wanted to put up a little pink and red. I found this charger plate at a local craft store for $2. I cut out some pink vinyl and applied it. I would like to display it on top of our entertainment center (so hopefully it is done by Feb. 14 : )

This is the area behind my wood-burning stove. I found a big frame on clearance and spray painted it blue. Then I hung this heart wreath that I made using pink felt and following this tutorial.

I made the side wall hangings by buying two 8×10 canvases. I sprayed them blue and cut 24 hearts out of scrapbooking paper. Then I modgepodged them on and hung them up.

I have a few more decorations to finish and I will post those pictures when they are completed.

About bets446

I am a stay-at-home mom to a boy and girl. I like to express my creative side through sewing and various craft projects.
This entry was posted in Tutorial, Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Home Decor

  1. Karen Denney says:

    I love some of the artistic ideas you displayed inside your home. Keep going with this blog. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

