Valentine’s Day Pillow

My first tutorial will hopefully help you get in the Valentine’s Day mood and provide a little red to your home decor.  We will be making a pillow cover.

I made my pillow to cover a 12×12 pillow form.  I gathered my fabric (of course, you can use any color).  I chose solid red for my cover and a beige and red with white hearts for accent colors.  I cut the solid red into three pieces:

  • 1- 13×13 inch piece (or one inch larger than your pillow form)
  • 2- 9×13 inch pieces for the back cover

Then I went to my computer and found a font I liked for the letters.  I printed them out to use for a template.

I got out my Heat n Bond (I use the sew-able kind, but if you don’t want to sew over the letters, you can use the nonsew-able kind).  I put my printed letters up against the window and backwards, then I trace over the letters.  For this pillow, I traced the letters once at regular size and then did them again just a little smaller.

Next, cut the letters apart and iron them onto the wrong side of your fabric.

Cut out the letters and peel off the backing.  I laid the beige color down on the 13×13 square and ironed them down.  Then I laid down the red with hearts and ironed them down.  I then went to my sewing machine and used a straight stitch and sewed just inside each of the red letters, giving them an outline.

I took my two 9×13 pieces and on one of the 13 inch sides I folded the edge over about 1/4 inch and ironed.  Then I folded over again 1/4 inch and ironed (making a nice finished edge).  I did this to both pieces and then sewed down that hem.

Next, I was ready to sew it all together.  I laid my 13×13 square on the table face up.  I laid the 9×13 pieces on top (face down) and pinned.  Then I just sewed a big square connecting them all together.  The two 9×13 pieces will overlap.  Clip the corners when you are done.

Turn the cover inside out and poke out the corners.  Fit it over your pillow form and display!

About bets446

I am a stay-at-home mom to a boy and girl. I like to express my creative side through sewing and various craft projects.
This entry was posted in Tutorial, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

